New Release from Jenn Langston

I’m pleased to welcome my fellow Soul Mate author, Jenn Langston here today to celebrate the release of her historical romance, Embracing the Knight. First, a little about the story:

embracingtheknight2_200Miss Claire Ashford knows exactly what she wants out of life – to marry for love. When she finds herself alone in the woods with none other than notorious rake, Ian Michael Caldwell, Viscount Knightly, her chances of a proper match are ruined. He is willing to sacrifice himself for the sake of her reputation, but she is determined not to marry anyone out of obligation.
For years, Ian has wanted nothing more than, one day, to marry Miss Claire Ashford. When fate forces them into a compromising situation, he vows to do just that. In spite of every effort, she refuses his suit. Not one to easily give up, Ian drafts assistance from an unlikely source.
As her first season continues, Claire finds it increasingly difficult to keep her distance from Ian. His charm, and ability to stir feelings inside of her she didn’t know existed, makes it hard to remember why she refused him in the first place. With his relentless pursuit and her weakening resolve, she desperately wants to give in to him. However, after seeing he hasn’t changed his rakish ways, how can she trust him not to break her heart, again?

You can find Embracing the Knight here on Amazon.

Now I’d like us all to get to know a little about the author behind the book.

Claire: Were you already a great writer? Have you always liked to write?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAJenn: I wouldn’t say I was already a great writer, as my writing improves with every word, but I have always loved to write. When I was in high school I had a notebook I would write short stories in. Definitely not my best work there.

Claire: What writing advice do you have for other aspiring authors?

Jenn: Keep writing. If this is something you are passionate about, stick with it. You may not make it on your first book, or the second, but if you keep improving your craft, you will reach your goals.

Claire: Do you read your reviews? Do you respond to them, good or bad? Do you have any advice on how to deal with the bad or perhaps do not read your reviews?

Jenn: Ah, yes. Reviews. I do read every single review I receive on Amazon and Goodreads. Sometimes I wish I could resist, but I’m powerless against the temptation. Sometimes I find something in the bad reviews that help me improve in my future books. And the good reviews give me a reason to keep on writing. Regardless if the review makes my heart melt or tears prick my eyes, I do not respond. Remember this is all subjective and every person has their own opinion. Agree or disagree and move on to reread your favorite five-star review.

Claire: If you could have any accents from anywhere in the world, where would you choose?

Jenn: Give me a British accent any day of the week. Or maybe not. I’d spend so much time talking to myself I’d never get anything done.

Claire: Ha! I have to admit, I’m a bit fond of the British accent myself. Grew up on the Beatles, love Adele, so how could I help it? But tell us, how long did it take you to realize your dream of publication?

Jenn: I didn’t begin seriously writing until 2008. Once I finished that first book, entitled Unwanted Bride, I started sending it out to publishers and agents. It wasn’t until I wrote my third regency romance (my forth finished book), His Perfect Bride, that I was offered a contract from a publisher. I signed in 2012 and the book was released in 2013.

Claire: How about background music while you write? Is silence golden, or do you need music to write by? If so, what kind?

Jenn: I am a huge music lover. Alternative Rock, Christian, Country, Pop, R&B, and a number of other genres are on my MP3 player. However, I just can’t write with it on. I get so caught up in the music, the next thing I know, I’m singing along with a pen in my hand.

Claire: I hear you! That’s why I choose instrumental music for background. Can’t sing along if there are no words. So tell us, what is you are working on now? What is your next project?

Jenn: I am working on the second novel in the Touched by Fire series. It’s called Enslaving the Day. I am really excited about this new series. It’s very interesting to work with heroes who have suffered burns in a fire when they were young. In book two, my hero, Gordon, has burns on the palms of his hands and has no feeling in two fingers. It adds a whole new dimension to the book.

You can buy Embracing the Knight on Amazon here, and you can find out more about Jenn Langston here:

Website, FacebookTwitterGoodreads

Amazon Author Page

Thanks so much for being my guest today, Jenn. I wish you much success with what sounds like an intriguing and captivating journey!

~~~

Claire Gem is the author of four romantic novels in the genres of paranormal, romantic suspense, and women’s fiction. You can find Claire here:

WebsiteFacebookTwitterGoodreads

Amazon Author Page

 

Leave a Reply

