Today’s Interview: Joanne Guidoccio

I’m honored today to be visiting with Joanne Guidoccio to get to know a little bit more about her and her book, Too Many Women in the Room. She’s also offering a Giveaway for a $10 Amazon gift card! But first, about the book:

TooManyWomenintheRoom_w11221_750 (2)When Gilda Greco invites her closest friends to a VIP dinner, she plans to share David Korba’s signature dishes and launch their joint venture— Xenia, an innovative Greek restaurant near Sudbury, Ontario. Unknown to Gilda, David has also invited Michael Taylor, a lecherous photographer who has throughout the past three decades managed to annoy all the women in the room. One woman follows Michael to a deserted field for his midnight run and stabs him in the jugular.
Gilda’s life is awash with complications as she wrestles with a certain detective’s commitment issues and growing doubts about her risky investment in Xenia. Frustrated, Gilda launches her own investigation and uncovers decades-old secrets and resentments that have festered until they explode into untimely death. Can Gilda outwit a killer bent on killing again?

~~~

Claire: Welcome, Joanne, and thanks for being here today. We’d love to know more about your writing life: those personal details about the author. So first, I’d like to ask you:

Where do you write?

Joanne: Originally, I had designated my den as a writing space, but I felt too confined and relocated to an empty space in my large living area. Whenever I need a break, I swivel my chair and take in the majestic trees outside my window.

Claire: Is silence golden, or do you need music to write by?

Joanne: I cannot write amid any chaos – auditory or otherwise. For that reason, I can only write at home.

Claire: Wow, I guess writers’ habits really do differ! Myself, I can’t write a word without soft instrumental music playing in the background, but as for going out and working at a Starbucks or Barnes & Noble coffeehouse, I can’t handle that king of chaos either.

Tell me, How much of your plots and characters are drawn from real life? From your life in particular?

Joanne: I identify strongly with Gilda Greco, the protagonist of the novel. So much so, that I used the first-person POV. Our similarities…Italian Canadian, born and raised in Sudbury, relocated to Southern Ontario, mathematics teachers, career development practitioners, yoga enthusiasts, non-foodies.

One major difference – Gilda won a $19 million lottery. I’m still hoping.

Having lived and taught in different cities throughout the province of Ontario, I felt free to “borrow” characteristics from former colleagues and students to create composite characters. While Gilda is approximately 70% me, the same can’t be said of the other characters. I would be very surprised if anyone recognized himself/herself in the novel.

Claire: I think we all create our characters from people we’ve known–I think it’s inevitable. As for winning the lottery, wow again! I can’t say I’d turn down that kind of turn in life’s road!

Now tell me: What’s your quirkiest quirk?

Joanne: I am controlled by a bird clock. Each hour, one of my feathered friends, among them the Downy Woodpecker, Belted Kingfisher, and Great Horned Owl, chirp and remind me to pace myself.

Claire: A bird clock! That’s a unique metronome, for sure! My husband has a car clock in his garage and it always startles me when this voice says, “Gentlemen, start your engines” on the hour!

Now, for dreams and wishes. Everyone at some point wishes for a do-over. What’s yours?

Joanne: I had planned to pursue a master’s degree, but life intervened. If I could go back, I would take a leave of absence in my late twenties and pursue that degree.

Claire: I can totally relate. I DID go back and do that master’s later in life, but I must tell you, I don’t think it helped my writing career as much as collaborating with all of my author friends. I think you’re doing fantastic without it 🙂

Thanks so much for being a guest with me today. And now . . .

Guidoccio 001

An Excerpt from “Too Many Women in the Room”:

He couldn’t believe he was following his wife’s advice. After twelve years of paying lip service to deep yoga breaths, mindfulness, and all the other New Age crap she espoused, he had finally found a use for it. His midnight run usually sorted out all the stress, but tonight was different. He still couldn’t shake the venom that had been directed his way.
To make matters worse, it had come from eight women, eight very different and very annoying women. He had bedded four, but right now he couldn’t imagine having sex with any of them. As for the untouched four, well, only one interested him, and it had nothing to do with her feminine wiles and everything to do with her healthy bank account.
He would have to take something to get through the night, something a lot stronger than his wife’s herbal teas. The remnants of an old Percocet prescription came to mind. Two capsules might do the trick. The thought of a panacea, albeit a chemical one, calmed his racing thoughts. A good night’s sleep would make a world of difference. And tomorrow, he would sort it out.
The light patter of feet distracted him. Definitely a woman’s gait. Her breath was even, neither shallow nor panting. Younger, maybe in her thirties. His pulse quickened, and a smile spread over his features. A welcome distraction. Just what he needed to erase the built-up stress. To hell with deep breathing, affirmations, and Percocet.

~~~
Book Trailer: https://youtu.be/CORaCadAnbA
Buy links:
Amazon (US): https://is.gd/NRjAXT
Amazon (Canada): https://is.gd/1pX3Bn
Kobo: https://is.gd/5VwbTf
Indigo: https://is.gd/o3ZKRW
The Wild Rose Press: https://is.gd/1mns8Q
Barnes & Noble: https://is.gd/NFHdlS

And not to forget: The details on that Giveaway!

Click on the Rafflecopter link below for your chance to win a $10 Amazon gift card.

https://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/628069205/

3 thoughts on “Today’s Interview: Joanne Guidoccio

Leave a Reply

